When most people hear the word “drugs” they immediately envision illicit street drugs such as heroin, methamphetamine, or cocaine. While the possession or sale of those drugs is certainly illegal, so is the possession or sale of other controlled substances that are found in prescription medications, such as morphine. If you have been charged with an offense that involves morphine, you likely want to know “What is the potential punishment for possession or sale of morphine in Tennessee?”
Tennessee, like all states, has followed the federal example and classified drugs (street or prescription) into categories or “schedules.” Schedule I controlled substances have the highest potential for abuse and have no accepted medical use in the United States. Schedule II controlled substances have a high potential for addiction and abuse and have an accepted, but highly restricted, medical use in the U.S. As the Schedules increase the potential for abuse decreases and the accepted medical usage of a controlled substances increases.
Penalties for possession, sale, manufacture, or distribution of a controlled substance are based, in part, on what schedule the drug is and the quantity of the substance involved. Morphine can be a Schedule I or a Schedule II controlled substance in the State of Tennessee. As a general rule, conviction of an offense involving a Schedule I controlled substance is a Class B felony that carries a minimum of eight years and a maximum of 25 years in prison and/or up to a $100,000 fine. You could, however, face more or less time, depending on factors such as:
- ·How much morphine was involved
- ·Whether you possess the drug for personal use or with the intent to sell
- ·Whether a weapon was involved
- ·Whether anyone was injured during the commission of the crime
- ·Whether the crime occurred near a school or other protected area
- ·Whether you have a history of a similar conviction(s)
If you are charged and convicted of the more serious Class A felony you face a minimum of 15 years in prison whereas conviction of the less serious Class C felony carries a minimum sentence of three years in prison.
If you have been arrested and charged with any offense involving morphine in the State of Tennessee it is imperative that you consult with the experienced criminal defense attorneys at Bennett, Michael & Hornsby attorney as soon as possible to ensure that you understand what penalties you face in your specific case and to ensure that your rights are protected throughout the prosecution of your case. consult with the experienced. Contact the team today by calling 615-898-1560 to schedule your appointment.
- Teenagers and Divorce: Tips for Parents - June 1, 2023
- Estate Planning Myths and Misconceptions - May 16, 2023
- Tennessee Felony and Misdemeanor Sentencing - May 11, 2023